Mei Tai baby carrier – an easy and cheap sewing project

Mei Tai sewing project

I am not a full time baby wearer, I love my pram too much for that, but I do want to carry Molly more so I have ordered a lovely Tula Chloe which I hope will be as comfy as people claim it is.

Until it is delivered, and for a bit of variation, I decided to knock up a Mei Tai baby carrier which I can stuff in my change bag for times when I am out and about with the pram but want to carry for a short while.

When out with the dogs, or out to do food shopping, I will use the pram but on times when me and the hubby are out for day shopping in the High Street then I plan to baby carry more and more. I have been wanting to do this but I have been finding carrying Molly uncomfortable on my back, or she wriggles out too much, or the back carrier that we have is more suited to hiking up a hill than strolling round a shop. Cue a google search for instructions on how to make my own carrier. I have seen people sell Mei Tai carriers but the thought of tying the straps made me dubious about them but as this was a project and not an expense I thought I would try it out.

This cost next to nothing for me to make. I cut up an old curtain which was no longer used and was just gathering dust for the straps and for two inner layers of the body of the carrier. I then found a fat quarter for the decorative part of the carrier and a scrap for the hood. I am not sure if the hood will ever be used as it seems a bit small.

For padding in the shoulder straps and waist straps I used the foam for Molly’s change mat that was about to be binned as it was ripped.

I then googled for free Mei Tai patterns and used a number of different Mei Tai patterns to make what I wanted. The straps I feel are on the short size and I only realised this after I had made them. They do tie so I didn’t go about making them bigger as I would have had to sew extensions and I feel that would have compromised the safety of it.

Mei Tai

Am I carrying Molly high enough?

The sewing project was so simple and took two evenings of sewing once Molly went to bed.

I have never used a Mei Tai before and for the quick try on it felt comfortable enough but I am not sure if I have put it on right. Is it high enough? Are Molly’s legs supported well enough?

Molly seemed very comfortable and so happy to be carried in it. I think I will use it a lot around the house as she is not her usual happy self at the moment so hopefully this will help her a bit.

Mei Tai

Not too bad for a couple of nights sewing

Have you made your own Mei Tai or SSC carrier? What hints and tips would you like to share?

Here is a link to some of the websites that I used for this project:

My Inner Need to Create

Hand Crafted Travellers

Fine and Fair 

Leave a Reply

